Home D19 Regattas
The News
PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 18 October 2012 00:00




Saturday, September 24, 2010 — Traverse City, Michigan



The 2012 GTYC LASER Fall Regatta and second leg of the BABEL CUP was held on Saturday September 29th. It was a “Chamber of Commerce Day on West Grand Traverse Bay”.


Sixteen boats (12 standard rig, 4 radial) sailed in the 5 race no throw out series. The breeze filled in at noon and built to the mid teens by race four. RC/PRO Jordon Owen ran four legs in each race and ended race five with six legs.


Jeff Ragains was hot out of the box and won race one followed by Jamie Stuursma and Frank Reeg. After 3 races Ragains and Stuursma were tied at five points each, with a “shoot out at the OK Corral” in the making. Reeg was holding on to top junior/standard rig and tied with Than Dykstra for third. The breeze built to the low/mid teens for races four and five. The battle was on between Stuursma and Ragains, breeze on, hiking hard up wind and surfing downwind. When the dust settled, Stuursma was able to hold off Ragains to repeat as Fall Champion and defend his hold on The BABEL CUP. Congrats Jamie. Tom Babel finished 3rd overall, followed by Dykstra and Reeg.


In the Radial Fleet, GTYC’s Dirk Phelps sailed a strong regatta placing first, seventh over-all with 35 points. Ryan Clulo was second Radial with 45 points followed by Sarah Corder (top female) in third.


After racing the fleet enjoyed some hot dogs from WARES FROSTY TREAT and cool beverages. Thanks to Jim Sorbie and his crew for on the water support and pictures, and to Sally Corder for registration. The fleet is looking forward to the 2013 Spring Regatta next May.

Last Updated on Thursday, 14 March 2013 18:29
for results click here
2012 Leland Annual Regatta PDF Print E-mail
Written by Ken   
Tuesday, 10 July 2012 00:00

2012 Leland Laser Regatta

Sat/Sun - July 21-22

 The Leland Yacht Club invites all Laser sailors to join us for a fun weekend of racing and camaraderie on beautiful Lake Leelanau in
Northwestern Michigan. The regatta features two days of racing and a Saturday night social event on the shores of Lake Michigan in
Historic Fishtown. We hope you'll join us!

Again this year----Out of town sailors may request lodging with a Leland Yacht Club family-- space available.  Email Allen Northcutt if you want to stay with a Yacht club family.

Please email Fred Heslop at  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it if you plan on coming to race so we can get an approximate head count for meals.


We hope you will come join us for a memorable weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last Updated on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 18:32
NOR other info click here...
2012 D19 Championships PDF Print E-mail
Written by Ken   


District 19 Championships

June 30-July 1, 2012

The 2012 District 19 Championships were at Muskegon Yacht Club

Last Updated on Thursday, 18 October 2012 20:44
click here for Results
PDF Print E-mail


2012 Great Lakes Laser Masters Championships

June 23-24, 2012

Click Picture for Picasa Photo Album


The forecast for Saturday was for very light air but the traditional thermal kicked in so we got 5 races off in about 6 - 8 kts of ESE wind.  Sunday we were treated to a nice 12 kt Southerly for 2 more races. 


Results by Age Division:

First Apprentice - Rusty Deane

First Master -  Ken Swetka

Second Master -  Harumitsu Yamamoto

Third Master -  Tom LaBelle

First Grand Master - Jim Meyer

Second Grand Master - Steve Wiseman

Third Grand Master -John Walton, Jr.


Overall Results:

Last Updated on Monday, 02 July 2012 20:50
click here for Overall Results and Notice of Regatta
Michigan Sailing Club Fall Laser Regatta PDF Print E-mail
Written by Fernando Leon   
Tuesday, 09 August 2011 00:00



Sunday September 18, 2011

Sailing on Baseline Lake, just north of Ann Arbor

For results got to this link on their website (click here)

Last Updated on Tuesday, 24 January 2012 14:08
Click here for NOR and more info

Page 3 of 4
Copyright © 2018 D19Laser. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.